What’s for dinner

Over the summer I blogged about the Supper of the Fish. Now it’s time for the supper of the hen, since I’m too cheap to get a whole turkey.

But before I roll out the menu, since it’s Thanksgiving, I do want to say that I’m grateful that I get to cook a (hopefully) delicious meal tomorrow, which is one of my favorite pastimes. I’m grateful to learn that a piece I’ve written is going to be published and that I’m getting to pursue my passions one way or another. I’m grateful that I have someone to celebrate the holiday with, even though I’m far from home. And I’m grateful for my family down in Austin and out in Hawaii that I don’t get to see yet, but that I’ll see very soon for Christmas.

Ahem. Pardon me, I think there’s some dust in my eye.

SO, on the menu for tomorrow we have:

Cornish hens (or rather, a chicken, since Trader Joe’s didn’t have the former) with vinegar

and a bacon-nut stuffing (all via Mark Bittman’s How to Cook Everything)

Focaccia bread

Green beans with lemon and almonds

Sweet potatoes and sage

And what would Thanksgiving be without a delicious, flaky-crusted

Pumpkin pie?

Pictures to come. Needless to say.

20121121-154232.jpg

Here’s the first dish that will get roasted inside the chicken–the bacon-nut stuffing. Surprisingly, the white wine at Westside Market is not bad at all (it’s a Pinot Grigio), so I’m drinking that in addition to using it in my cooking.

20121121-172302.jpg

One thought on “What’s for dinner

  1. Bravo! Menu sounds yummy! Let the cooking begin. Miles away, I’ll be thinking of you as I am working in my kitchen. Enjoy your time in the kitchen and around the table. Love you and looking forward to time together at Christmas!

Leave a Reply

