Scratching the surface

courtesy of cm120 / flickr

Not to be dramatic, but here is my magnum opus for the Spec. It’s unlike anything I’ve ever written before in that it involved a lot of reporting and interviewing, but I was able to write about my favorite topic: faith. One of my goals in taking the job as editorial page editor was to bring the good news of Christ a little closer to the minds of Columbia students and Speccies (whether they knew it or not). As an editor, I haven’t always been able to do that directly, but I have hoped that my actions speak for themselves and that grace unfolds whether or not I write or speak His name. When I took on this project of writing a lead story for the paper’s weekly magazine, I knew this was my chance to make a tangible difference through the art of  journalism. I pray that this piece is fair, but most importantly, that it’s true. I know that I, too, am merely scratching the surface.

Scratching the Surface

Is the University Chaplain doing her job?

A week ago around lunchtime, I headed to an interfaith discussion hosted by the Office of the University Chaplain. But when I entered Earl Hall, a lonely flyer on a table greeted me. Apparently, the discussion was postponed in order to find a time better suited to students’ schedules. A sign-up sheet lay next to it to collect the emails of students who wanted to attend future “People of the Book” discussions. There were two names. (more)

One thought on “Scratching the surface

Leave a Reply

